This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Madagascar

Madagascar is made up of 22 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Madagascar. Information on all primary administrative regions in Madagascar.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Madagascar alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Madagascar

There are 22 regions in Madagascar in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Madagascar
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Analamanga Analamanga Region1.2,811,500Antananarivo Antananarivo1,391,433
Atsinanana Atsinanana Region2.1,117,100Toamasina Toamasina206,373
Vakinankaratra Vakinankaratra Region3.1,589,800Antsirabe Antsirabe186,253
Upper Matsiatra Haute Matsiatra Region4.1,128,900Fianarantsoa Fianarantsoa167,227
Boeny Boeny Region5.543,200Mahajanga Mahajanga154,657
Atsimo-Andrefana Atsimo-Andrefana Region6.1,018,500Toliara Toliara115,319
Diana Diana Region7.485,800Antsiranana Antsiranana82,937
Androy Androy Region8.476,600Ambovombe Ambovombe66,818
Anosy Anosy Region9.544,200Fort Dauphin Fort Dauphin45,141
Alaotra Mangoro Alaotra Mangoro Region10.877,700Ambatondrazaka Ambatondrazaka43,134
Menabe Menabe Region11.390,800Morondava Morondava36,803
Vatovavy Fitovinany Vatovavy Fitovinany Region12.1,097,700Manakara Manakara35,499
Sava Sava Region13.805,300Sambava Sambava31,522
Amoron'i Mania Amoron'i Mania Region14.693,200Ambositra Ambositra30,353
Bongolava Bongolava Region15.326,600Tsiroanomandidy Tsiroanomandidy27,060
Atsimo-Atsinanana Atsimo-Atsinanana Region16.621,200Farafangana Farafangana24,764
Betsiboka Betsiboka Region17.236,500Maevatanana Maevatanana24,000
Sofia Sofia Region18.940,800Antsohihy Antsohihy21,290
Analanjirofo Analanjirofo Region19.860,800Fenoarivo Atsinanana Fenoarivo Atsinanana21,036
Ihorombe Ihorombe Region20.189,200Ihosy Ihosy16,990
Melaky Melaky Region21.175,500Maintirano Maintirano16,000
Itasy Itasy Region22.643,000Miarinarivo Miarinarivo-