This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Madagascar

Madagascar is made up of 22 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Madagascar. Information on all primary administrative regions in Madagascar.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Madagascar alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Madagascar

There are 22 regions in Madagascar in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Madagascar
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Analamanga Analamanga Region1.2,811,500Antananarivo Antananarivo1,391,433
Vakinankaratra Vakinankaratra Region2.1,589,800Antsirabe Antsirabe186,253
Upper Matsiatra Haute Matsiatra Region3.1,128,900Fianarantsoa Fianarantsoa167,227
Atsinanana Atsinanana Region4.1,117,100Toamasina Toamasina206,373
Vatovavy Fitovinany Vatovavy Fitovinany Region5.1,097,700Manakara Manakara35,499
Atsimo-Andrefana Atsimo-Andrefana Region6.1,018,500Toliara Toliara115,319
Sofia Sofia Region7.940,800Antsohihy Antsohihy21,290
Alaotra Mangoro Alaotra Mangoro Region8.877,700Ambatondrazaka Ambatondrazaka43,134
Analanjirofo Analanjirofo Region9.860,800Fenoarivo Atsinanana Fenoarivo Atsinanana21,036
Sava Sava Region10.805,300Sambava Sambava31,522
Amoron'i Mania Amoron'i Mania Region11.693,200Ambositra Ambositra30,353
Itasy Itasy Region12.643,000Miarinarivo Miarinarivo-
Atsimo-Atsinanana Atsimo-Atsinanana Region13.621,200Farafangana Farafangana24,764
Anosy Anosy Region14.544,200Fort Dauphin Fort Dauphin45,141
Boeny Boeny Region15.543,200Mahajanga Mahajanga154,657
Diana Diana Region16.485,800Antsiranana Antsiranana82,937
Androy Androy Region17.476,600Ambovombe Ambovombe66,818
Menabe Menabe Region18.390,800Morondava Morondava36,803
Bongolava Bongolava Region19.326,600Tsiroanomandidy Tsiroanomandidy27,060
Betsiboka Betsiboka Region20.236,500Maevatanana Maevatanana24,000
Ihorombe Ihorombe Region21.189,200Ihosy Ihosy16,990
Melaky Melaky Region22.175,500Maintirano Maintirano16,000